Telecommunications-Radio communications

European Union

BIPT actively participates in many committees and/or closely follows their activities: the COCOM (Communications Committee), the RSC (Radio Spectrum Committee), the TCAM (Telecommunications Conformity Assessment and Market Surveillance Committee, charged with assisting the Commission in the application of the R&TTE directive on radio and telecommunications terminal equipment), and the eTEN Committee (Trans-European Networks in electronic communications), which are committees established by Council and Parliament directives.

BIPT also participates in official groups set up by the Commission such as the BEREC (Body of European Regulators for Electronic Communications), the RSPG (Radio Spectrum Policy Group), the Digital Agenda, and ad hoc groups convened by the Commission such as the High Level Group on Internet Governance (HLIG).

BIPT also sits on the management board of ENISA, the European Network and Information Security Agency.


The WTO is the international body that lays down the rules of trade between nations. The WTO agreements set out the basic legal rules for international trade and trade policy. They are aimed at three objectives: promoting free trade as much as possible, achieving progressive trade liberalisation through negotiation, and providing a means of settling disputes between trading countries.

BIPT participates in the meetings of the Negotiating Group on Basic Telecommunications (NGBT).


The OECD’s vocation has been to build strong economies in its member countries, improve efficiency, hone market systems, expand free trade and contribute to development in industrialised as well as developing countries.

BIPT participates:

  • in the meetings of the ICCP (Committee on Information, Communications and Computer Policy);
  • in the meetings of the Working Party on the Information Economy (WPIE);
  • in the meetings of the Working Party on Telecommunication and Information Services Policies (WPTISP);
  • in a number of specific conferences.


BIPT participates in the CCPC (Civil Communications Planning Committee) and the FMSC (Frequency Management Sub-Committee). The FMSC, the NATO body dealing with frequency management, is the successor to the Allied Radio Frequency Agency (ARFA).


The IRG (Independent Regulators Group) was established in 1997 as a group of European National Telecommunications Regulatory Authorities (NRA) to share experiences and points of views among its members on important issues relating to the regulation and development of the European telecommunications market (such as interconnection, prices, universal service…).

BIPT participates in the plenary meetings and various working groups.


ITU (International Telecommunication Union) is an intergovernmental organisation in which the public and private sectors cooperate to develop and promote harmonised telecommunications policies in Member States. As regards standardisation, ITU-T coordinates the development of systems and technologies that form the new global information infrastructure. With respect to radio communication, ITU-R is responsible for ensuring the rational, equitable, efficient and economical use of the radio-frequency spectrum by all radio communication services and to carry out studies and approve Recommendations on radio communication matters. The task of the Telecommunication Development Sector (ITU-D) is to facilitate and enhance global telecommunication development by offering, organising and coordinating technical cooperation and assistance activities.

BIPT participates:

  • in the Plenipotentiary Conference;
  • in the Administrative Council (as an observer);
  • in the World Radio communication Conference as well as its preparatory conferences;
  • in the World Telecommunication Standardisation Assembly;
  • in the World Telecommunication Policy Forum.


CEPT (European Conference of Postal and Telecommunications Administrations) was established in 1959 by 19 countries (now there are 48) and initially united the national administrations charged with the postal and telecommunications sector. CEPT co-ordinated the cooperation between the Member States on commercial, operational, regulatory and technical standardisation issues. Since 1992 CEPT has been solely occupied with subjects of a regulatory nature. Within CEPT two committees have been established: CERP (European Committee for Postal Regulation) and the ECC (Electronic Communications Committee). The ECC has a permanent office supporting it: ECO (European Communications Office).

BIPT participates:

  • in the CEPT plenary meeting;
  • in the ECC plenary meetings and various ECC working groups;
  • in the ECO Board of Management;
  • in the CERP plenary meetings and various CERP working groups.


ETSI was set up in 1988 on the joint initiative of the EU and CEPT to set common telecommunication standards. The Institute unites over 700 member organisations from 62 countries worldwide, including administrations, operators, manufacturers, service providers, universities, research bodies and users.

BIPT participates:

  • in the General Assembly;
  • in the ERM committee (Electromagnetic Compatibility and Radio Spectrum Matters).


The Regional Arrangement on the Radio communication Service for Inland Waterways was signed in Bucharest on 18 April 2012. Until now (5 November 2012), the following countries, mainly Rhine and Danube countries, have signed this agreement: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Croatia, France, Hungary, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Poland, the Republic of Serbia and Switzerland. Expectations are that the Arrangement will soon also be signed by Germany, Moldavia, Montenegro, Romania and Slovakia. At least, such was the case with the previous Arrangement. In order to implement common safety principles and rules for people and goods on inland waterways and considering that the harmonisation of the radiotelephone service will contribute to safer navigation on inland waterways, the delegates of the administrations of the above-mentioned countries have met in accordance with Article 6 of the Radio Regulations of the International Telecommunication Union (ITU) to adopt this text.

More information is available at


‘HCM Agreement’ is the name used to designate the agreement between the administrations of Austria, Belgium, Croatia, the Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia and Switzerland on the coordination of frequencies between 29.7 MHz and 39.5 GHz for fixed service and land mobile services in accordance with Article 6 of the ITU Radio Regulations for the purposes of preventing mutual harmful interference to the fixed and land mobile services and optimising the use of the frequency spectrum.

The HCM Agreement provides for detailed administrative procedures concerning frequency coordination and also includes technical provisions. The HCM software (Harmonised Calculation Method) has been developed to ensure harmonised use of the calculation methods laid down in the agreement.

The HCM Agreement was signed by correspondence in 2012.